Dried Agar Agar Strands 20g
Ingredients: Agar-agar (100%)
Allergy Advice: For allergens see ingredients in bold.
Net Weight: 20g
Product of: Malaysia
Keep sealed once open
Store in a cool, dry place
Agar-agar is a gelatinous substance derived from red algae. It has been popular across Asia for centuries as an ingredient used in making desserts and cooking other types of food. It can also be used as a laxative, a vegetarian gelatin substitute, or to thicken soups, sauces, or preserves.
What is Agar-Agar?
For those of you who do not know, gelatin is extracted from animal skin and bones. If there’s a part of you that objects to that, then agar-agar or agar is for you. Derived from red algae, it is the vegan substitute for gelatin.
Agar was ‘accidentally’ discovered in Japan in the 1600s by an innkeeper, Mino Tarozaemon, who was serving some special guests some very hard-to-make seaweed jelly noodles. To make this dish, the seaweed had to be painstakingly dried and boiled for several days, so it was a dish that was reserved only for the rich. But sadly, there were a lot of leftovers that night and he had to throw it out – understandably, in the absence of refrigerators back then – but when he woke up the next morning, he saw that the jelly noodles had dried up in the snow overnight into a paper-like substance. From that, he developed ‘kanten’, which is our modern-day agar-agar.
Since its discovery, agar-agar has been used predominantly to make desserts in Asia, but it has also found uses as a vegan gelling agent and a thickener in savoury dishes.
|*Shipping Weight||30 g|
|Dimensions||38 × 10 × 3 cm|